top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyanCarraher

"I Am\Never Was" - The Importance of Impulse



When I woke up this morning I had no idea I would be sharing music with anyone. That is, to me, one of the most amazing things about being a musician in the 21st century; we can share what we created with the whole world (well... who ever is willing to listen!). It's quite surreal. This morning I was getting all set up to start my practice session and I was just struck with the urge to create something. An idea of six short "movements" for solo guitar intrigued me and I got to work. I did one take for each movement. I wanted to experiment with different sounds and textures I have in my pedal board and make each movement different but keep movement 1 and 6 somewhat similar.


Personally, I am very self critical and perfectionistic. It usually takes me a while to share anything with anyone when it comes to music but today I wanted to share what I made in the same day. Something new for me. A very impulsive and organic form of music making that produced results that I am proud of. 


This piece is about not giving a shit. It is about leaving the baggage of what is expected of you by your peers, school, society whatever and simply listening and responding to the sounds around you. I felt the need to create. I shed all expectations and simply played what I heard in the moment. These are captured moments that would have simply disappeared had I simply said to myself "I don't have time to record anything today".


4 views0 comments
bottom of page